Each year in Montana, over 200 people die in traffic crashes and 41% or more casualties are caused by alcohol-related incidents. In 2006, 40% of all traffic fatalities were involved a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.
Montana’s Traffic Law violation and penalties
A large no of Montana Traffic Laws are counted as infractions. These infractions require paying a fine in the range of $20 – $ 1000. The amount of fine and period of imprisonment increases with the severity of the offense.
Montana Speeding Law: Within the premises of the State of Montana, the most occurring violation of traffic laws is over speeding. Although the speed limit for a particular area (urban, rural etc) is determined by the arresting officer and usually lies in the range of 70 and 85 mph. Vehicle speed either safe or not, is determined by observing drive of a driver over the road. If he is passing most of the traffic on the road, means he is not traveling at a safe speed and violating the speed limit. If a person violates the speed limit in the State he will be charged with a fine not less than $70 and not greater than $500.
Montana Seat Belt Law: One of the other violation of Montana Traffic Laws is a seat belt violation. Montana Seatbelt Traffic Law places a compulsion of wearing a seat belt while traveling on the road. Under the state’s traffic laws, it is made compulsory for driver and passengers of the vehicle to wear seat belt
A Child safety restraint system is also required to be installed in the vehicle for children under the age of 6 and/or weighing less than 60 pounds. Few of the drivers and passengers who are unable to wear a seatbelt due to medical reasons are excluded from seat belt law. Presently, the State does not have a seatbelt law as a primary law.
Violating seat belt law is not a misdemeanor but it is counted as moving violation. The failure of wearing a seat belt costs a plenty of $20 to the offender. While if a driver lacks a child safety restraint system, he or she will be charged a fine not more than $100
Leaving the sight of an accident: Under Montana Traffic Laws, leaving the scene of an accident involving an injury or death is an illegal act. If the accident caused only vehicle damage then leaving the sight of an accident is considered as misdemeanor. Penalties for the offense of leaving the sight of accident includes jail for a period of 30 to 365 days, fine of $100 to $5,000 or/and suspension of driving privileges for a whole year.
Montana DUI Law: If the BAC value of the driver is greater than 0.02, he is restricted to drive a vehicle. A driver for his 1st DUI Conviction will be panelized with a jail of 24 hours to 6 months. If there is a passenger of 16 year old in vehicle, jail period will be 48 hours to 12 months. License will be suspended for 6 months and/ or fine up to $1,000 or $2,000 will also be charged. Offender is also required to install ignition lock in his automobile along with Complete Chemical Dependency Education Course or Treatment.
The amount of fine $10,000 or jail and/or suspension of license for a whole will be charged for the 2nd and 3rd conviction. Refusing for BAC test is also considered an offense under the Law of the State and is fined accordingly.
How to respond to a traffic ticket in the state of Montana
A Traffic Ticket is a notification that one has committed a minor legal infraction, for which a fine must be paid, and/or an appearance in court must be made. An offender has to pay the amount of fine within 20 days after receiving the ticket. If a ticket is issued by the Montana Highway Patrol, Sheriff’s Office, or Fish, Wildlife and Parks Department, the offender needs to settle it in the Justice Court of the county. Tickets issued by a local police officer need to be paid in the Municipal Court of the city or town. Fine can be paid by check or cash while some courts may also accept credit card payments.