New Mexico Traffic Laws violation resulted in about 58% of motor vehicle accident deaths due to roadway departures. Approximately, 8% accident deaths happened due to intersection. Due to large trucks crashing, there occurred 11% fatalities along with 55 fatalities of pedestrians. Out of 439 motor-vehicle crashes, 43% of people were car passengers while in case of light truck passengers killed were 42%.
For the year 1998, the alcohol related fatalities percentage in the state reached to its peak level of 68%. It attained the lowest percentage of 32% in 2006. In the year 1982 the actual number of alcohol-related deaths was recorded to be 375, and the lowest number of alcohol related deaths was reported in 2006, with 155. Comparison of recent and past statistics clearly depicts that overall graph of alcohol related deaths in the State of New York is going both in terms of actual number as well as percentage.
New Mexico’s Traffic Law violation and penalties
Law for Driving without a license: It is illegal to operate a vehicle without possessing a personal driver license according to the New Mexico Traffic Laws. The penalty caused against this violation is serving time in jail for a year and a half and/ or a fine up to $5000.
DUI law: If the BAC value of the driver is greater than 0.02%, he is restricted to drive a vehicle under DUI law of the State of New Mexico.
Any driver for his first DUI conviction will be panelized with a jail of maximum 90 Days and fine of $750 will also be charged. License will be suspended for at least 1 year. Offender will be enforced to install ignition lock in the vehicle at his or her own expense. Apart from this he will be admitted in the DWI School. His Alcohol Evaluation will be carried out and he will be subject for a Community Service and possibly will also have the treatment.
For the 2nd, 3rd and 4th conviction, the amount of fine will be $5000, prison up till 18 months and lifetime suspension of driving privileges (with 5 Years Review). 4th DUI conviction is a felony and panelizes the offender to Drug / Alcohol Treatment Program.
How to respond to a New Mexico Traffic Ticket
The traffic ticket of the State of New Mexico will contain two check boxes one against the “penalty assessment” and the other against the “court appearance”. If the check box against the penalty assessment is marked, the offender will just need to pay fine by mailing in a check or money order to the address provided at the back of the ticket. Amount of the fine is also determined by the officer and written on the ticket. But if court appearance check box is marked, the offender is required to appear in the court at the address written on the ticket. The time and date for the appearance is also mentioned on the ticket.
However, a few courts in the State of New York like Metropolitan Court in Albuquerque, allows the offender to settle up a court appearance by calling at the phone number provided on the ticket.